The Horoscope




North-Indian Style
South-Indian Style
Table of Zodiac









Horoscope: The horoscope is the Map of Heaven. A horoscope has twelve houses which are one or the other Zodiac sign out of the 12 Zodiac signs. The horoscope is a tool to study about various aspects of life. Like we can study about the Native, Country, Climate, etc.

Houses: There are 12 houses in the horoscope as there are 12 Zodiac signs. Each house represents a particular aspect of the native's life. Like the first house is used to know about the basic nature, appearance, character, etc. about the Native. The first house is called the Ascendant. The fourth, seventh and the tenth are respectively called the Nadir, Descendant and the Mid-Heaven.

Ascendant: The Ascendant is the Zodiac sign rising in the eastern horizon at any given time and place. In other words, Ascendant is the degree of the ecliptic which is rising over the Eastern horizon at the particular time and place of birth. The Ascendant is the first house of the horoscope ( Map of Heaven).

To start with we first find the longitude's of all the planets and also the longitude of the Ascendant from a standard 'Ephimeris'.


For Example we get:

Sample Chart:

Planets Longitudes Sign*
Ascendant 277.77 10
Sun 15.66 1
Mercury 28.28 1
Venus 55.40 2
Mars 320.46 11
Jupiter 346.55 12
Saturn 80.43 3
Moon 250.24 9
Rahu 218.77 8
Ketu 38.77 2

Figure: Longitude's of the Planets


The Steps to place the planets in the chart are:

North-Indian Style:

Figure: North Indian Chart

Figure: North Indian Chart with Ascendant Marked

Figure: North Indian Chart with Houses Marked

Figure: North Indian Chart with Planets Placed

South-Indian Style:

Figure: South Indian Chart Figure: South Indian Chart with Ascendant Marked
Figure: South Indian Chart with Houses Marked Figure: South Indian Chart with Planets Placed


Thus we represents the Planets in the "North" and the "South" Indian Styled Horoscopes.

                    The numbers in the horoscope represents the following Zodiac signs (or the Rasi's ).

Table of Zodiac:

Numbers Rasi's Degrees
1 Aries 0-30
2 Taurus 30-60
3 Gemini 60-90
4 Cancer 90-120
5 Leo 120-150
6 Virgo 150-180
7 Libra 180-210
8 Scorpio 210-240
9 Sagittarius 240-270
10 Capricorn 270-300
11 Aquarius 300-330
12 Pisces 330-360

Figure: The Number's above indicating Zodiac Sign's


Hosting by WebRing.