Member Churches

Anglican Church of Australia
Antiochian Orthodox Church
Armenian Apostolic Church
Assyrian Church of the East
Chinese Methodist Church
in Australia
Churches of Christ in Australia
Congregational Federation
of Australia
Coptic Orthodox Church
Greek Orthodox Archdiocese
of Australia
Lutheran Church of Australia
Mar Thoma Church
Religious Society of Friends
Roman Catholic Church
Romanian Orthodox Episcopate
of Australia and New Zealand
The Salvation Army
Syrian Orthodox Church
Uniting Church in Australia

Church Growth WebRing

National Council of

Churches in Australia

The National Council of Churches in Australia (NCCA) is an ecumenical organisation bringing together the largest Australian Christian Churches in dialogue and practical cooperation.

It works in collaboration with state ecumenical councils around Australia.   It is an associate council of the World Council of Churches, a member of the Christian Conference of Asia and a partner of other national ecumenical bodies throughout the world.   Act for Peace is the international aid agency of the NCCA, which aims to empower war-torn communities to protect refugees, reduce poverty, prevent conflicts and manage disasters.

The modern ecumenical movement began to take shape at the end of the 19th century.   Initiatives among students and between church mission agencies led the way.   In Australia, these included the Australian Student Christian Movement, formed in 1896, and the National Missionary Council, created in 1926.

Organised ecumenism in Australia at the national Church level was first formalised through the Australian Committee for the World Council of Churches (1946).   Initially, this movement involved only the Anglican and Mainline Protestant churches.   In the 1960s and 70s, however, Eastern and Oriental Orthodox churches joined the ecumenical movement.   This developed into the Australian Council of Churches (ACC).   Following the Second Vatican Council, the Roman Catholic Church in Australia began exploring possibilities for relationships with other churches.   In 1994 the National Council of Churches in Australia (NCCA) succeeded the ACC, with the Catholic Church as a member.

The NCCA logo was adopted in 1994 and updated in 2006. It shows a boat which has long been used to represent the ecumenical movement and the constellation the Southern Cross which also appears on the Australian flag.

Christian Websites
    << Prev  |   Hub | Sites | Join | Random  |   Next >>    

World Council of Churches

An international organization of more than 320 Protestant, Anglican, Old Catholic, and Orthodox churches that promotes ecumenical fellowship, service, and study.

Christian Conference of Asia

A regional ecumenical organisation representing 16 National Councils and over 100 churches / denominations in Aotearoa-New Zealand, Australia, Bangladesh, Burma, Cambodia, East Timor, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Laos, Nepal, Japan, Korea, Malaysia, Pakistan, Philippines, Sri Lanka, Taiwan and Thailand.