The Fae Star

The faerie/elven star; this pic created by 'Miaren Crow's Daughter'

The seven-pointed star, also known as the Elven Star, or Faerie Star, has many meanings:
  • The seven directions: North, South, East, West, Above, Below, Within
  • The seven elements: Earth, Air, Fire, Water, Life, Light, Magick
  • The seven chakras
  • Seven notes in a musical scale: Do, Re, Mi, Fa, So, La, Ti
  • The seven (visible) colors in a rainbow

And many other possible meanings. It represents universal balance, as represented by the symbol for earth (a square, four sides) united with the trinity, representing heaven (or its equivalent), bound together in harmony, three over four, 'heaven over earth'. All is well, and in balance.

Excerpts from A Dictionary of Symbols
J.E. Cirlot

The number seven: Symbolic of perfect order, a complete period or cycle. It comprises the union of the ternary and the quarternary, and hence it is endowed with exceptional value. It corresponds to the seven Directions of Space (that is, the six existential dimensions plus the centre), to the seven-pointed star, to the reconciliation of the square with the triangle by superimposing the latter upon the former (as the sky over the earth) or by inscribing it within. It is the number forming the basic series of musical notes, of colours and of the planetary spheres, as well as of the gods corresponding to them; and also of the capital sins and their opposing virtues. It also corresponds to the three-dimensional cross, and finally, it is the symbol of pain.
(Plato: "the ternary is the number pertaining to the idea; the quarternary is the number connected with the realization of the idea." )


Back to 
the main page

Hosting by WebRing.