Kriya Yoga Techniques

A list of Original Kriya Yoga Techniques according to different gurus.

A Guru may teach some or all of these to a disciple in the orders listed. Some of the techniques are called by different names by different gurus. Those having received the techniques will know them regardless of the names used.

Video of Kechari Mudra at bottom

Kriya Techniques in order according to:

001: Lahiri Mahasaya
108: Swami Sri Yukteswar
240: Sri Sailendra Bejoy Das Gupta
210: Swami Nityananda Giri
232: Paramahansa Yogananda/YSS-SRF
335: Swami Satyeswarananda Giri
360: Swami Sadhanananda Giri

001: Lahiri Mahasaya
108: Swami Sri Yukteswar
240: Sri Sailendra Bejoy Dasgupta

  1. First Kriya
  2. Higher Kriyas: cannot be performed without Kechari Mudra**
  3. Second Kriya is Thokar Kriya
  4. Third Kriya is Omkar Kriya
  5. Fourth Kriya
  6. Fifth Kriya*
  7. Sixth Kriya*
  8. other higher Kriyas*
* Kriyas above the fourth are not taught by the Guru. They are divined out by the Kriya Yogi himself
**There is a specific injunction against cutting the frenum in order to acheive Kechari.

240: Swami Nityananda Giri

  1. First Kriya
  2. second Kriya (Omkar Kriya) ( khechari required from this point)
  3. third Kriya (Thokar Kriya)

232: Paramahansa Yogananda/YSS-SRF

  1. First initiation
  2. No specific instruction for Khechari. Will happen of its own. Lesson K14 has the closest thing to a description/instructions.
  3. Second initiation
  4. Third initiation
  5. Fourth initiation

335: Swami Satyeswarananda Giri

  1. Mahamudra (Great Kriya)
  2. Navi Kriya (Electronizing Kriya)
  3. Talabya Kriya or Khecharimudra (Inner-Outer-Space Kriya)
  4. Pranayam (Equilibrium Kriya)
  5. The first Omkar Kriya (Electromagnetizing Kriya)
  6. The second Omkar Kriya (Cosmo-electromagnetizing Kriya)
  7. The third Omkar Kriya
  8. The fourth Omkar Kriya (Spontaneous transmigrating Kriya)
  9. Yonimudra (Beatific Inner Revelation Kriya)
  10. Brahmayonimudra (Spontaneous Tranquility)
  11. Purna Kriya (Eternal Tranquility)

360: Swami Sadhanananda Giri

Book "Yoga-Its Mystery and Performing Art" is reported to contain the actual techniques

Order of Technique Practice


Video of Kechari Mudra....