National Council of Churches


Theological Foundation

Governance and relationships



Research and publishing contributions

Social and political advocacy

Member denominations

This page was last modified on
18 September 2010

Text is available under the
Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike License

The National Council of the Churches of Christ in the USA (usually identified as National Council of Churches) is an ecumenical partnership of 36 Christian faith groups in the United States. Its member communions - variously called denominations, churches, conventions, or archdioceses - include a wide spectrum of Mainline Protestant, Orthodox, African-American, Evangelical and historic Peace churches. Together, they encompass 100,000 local congregations and 45 million adherents.

The NCC and its predecessor organizations have been a leading force in the Christian ecumenical movement in the United States for more than a century. The present Council was organized in 1950 as a merger of the Federal Council of Churches, formed by the Protestant denominations in 1908, and several other ecumenical organizations including the International Council of Religious Education, formed in 1905, but with origins in the 1830s.

The Council's sister organization, Church World Service, is a humanitarian and relief arm of the NCC's member communions and has work in more than 80 nations.

Next page:   Theological Foundation

Spread the Word Christian Ring
  << Prev  | Sites  | Random  | Next >>
Spread the Word Posts   |   Psalm 77 (New International Version)