| Home | 2013 Club TT Calender | 2013 Club TT Results |

Rugby Velo

Club Time Trials

Every year, begining in April and continuing through to the end of August the Club run a series of time trials on Tuesday evenings. The distances raced over vary from 6 to 25 miles. Members of other RTTC affiliated clubs are welcome to take part but a small fee may be payable. If you are not a member of a club a would still like to have a go then membership of the Velo is readily available.

A keenly fought championship exists for Club members, contested over 10 miles. Points are earnt for placings in each 10 mile time trial, with only the 10 best results counting.

Veteran Club members get their own championship to contest. The best aggregate times against VTTA standards for two 10 mile time trials and one 25 mile time trial are used to decide the champion.

To encourage more members to ride 25-mile events, of which there are now five, a 25-mile championship has been devised. The championship will be decided on your three best times.

Another championship has been added based on handicap over one 25-mile & two 10-mile time trials. Your handicap will be calculated on your previous Club time trial performances, so you will need to have ridden at least one Club event at that distance before a handicap can be applied. There are standard tables available for calculating handicap from the RTTC web site and it�s these that will be used.

In October the Club close the time trialing season with a hill climb. More silverware is at stake here with hill climb championship trophy, gold, silver and bronze medals. Held on Newnham Hill, south of Daventry, the race is not everyone's cup of tea but is short enough to be just bearable. As an added bit of spice the event is also a inter-club event with the Rugby RCC, so plenty of friendly rivalry is in evidence.

2013 Club Time Trial Calendar

2013 calender of events and results.

2012 Club Time Trial Results and Championship Tables

The Club time trial season for 2012 is all wrapped up now, all the results and Championship tables are available to view.

Phil Clark got his hands back on the Club 10-mile Championship after having last won it in 2009 whilst John Beckett made an welcome return to time trialing taking the runner-up spot in the process and speedy junior, Luke Markham, was a worthy 3rd.

The 25-mile Championship was a dead heat between John Beckett and Luke Markham with the latter claiming the silverware with the virtue of having the faster times, whilst Steve Whitington came took 3rd.

Phil Clark turned the tables on Colin Stiles to take the Veterans Championship with his best efforts over two 10-mile and one 25-mile time trials giving him an aggregated plus of 23-45 to Colin's 22-44. while John Beckett was in the frame again in 3rd.

The hillclimb is traditionaly the last Championship of the season, which is fought for over 1000-yard Newnham Hill. Luke Markham set the hill alight with a 2-19 giving him a 4-sec advantage over Jordan Peacock and Gary Hipwell claimed yet another medal, all be it bronze, in this event despite being the wrong side of 50-years of age.

Results Archive

2011 results and TT Championships rankings.
2010 results and TT Championships rankings.
2009 results and TT Championships rankings.
2008 results and TT Championships rankings.
2007 results and TT Championships rankings.
2006 results and TT Championships rankings.
2005 results and TT Championships rankings.
2004 results and TT Championships rankings.
2003 results and TT Championships rankings.
2002 results and 10 mile TT Championship rankings.
2001 results and 10 mile TT Championship rankings.
2000 results and 10 mile TT Championship rankings.

Club Records

Existing Club time trial records.

Inter-Club Time Trial

In 2002 a inter-club time trial was added to the calendar of events. Proposed by the Rugby RCC who were looking for a suitable way of commemorating their late president, Eddie Brodest, who died in 2001, the event proved a resounding success and is now annual fixture.

The 2004 event been arranged for the evening of Friday, 2nd July and will be staged on the familiar K10/10 course but will continue through Princethorpe to finish a few hundred metres before Marton. The regular Velo course turns left and left again in Princethorpe.

Unusual for a Club event is the use of a HQ. Bourton village hall will be open from 18:30 for signing-on and number collection etc. and after the event for results, light refreshments and awarding of the Eddie Brodest Memorial Trophy.

The trophy, which Rugby Velo will be looking to retain, will go to the Club with the six fastest times on aggregate. It is not an event for just the six quickest riders in the Club, it is an event for everyone and is free to enter for members of the Rugby Velo and Rugby RCC.

In addition to the Eddie Brodest 10, Rugby Velo invite the members of Rugby RCC to take part in their hill climb on Sunday, 10th October 2004. No trophies at stake for this one just a bit of friendly rivalry.

| Home | 2013 Club TT Calender | 2013 Club TT Results | Top |

Hosting by WebRing.